Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

PEN Ackerley Prize 2018

10 July 2018, 7:00 pm8:15 pm

£5 – £8

Come and hear shortlisted authors Richard Beard, Maggie O’Farrell and Victoria Whitworth read from and discuss their work with chair of judges   Peter Parker,   before the winner of the 2018 prize is announced.

The PEN Ackerley Prize is awarded to a literary autobiography of excellence, written by a British author and published during the preceding year. It is the only UK prize dedicated solely to memoir. Previous winners include   Amy Liptrot,   Alice Jolly,   Henry Marsh,   Sonali Deraniyagala,   Richard Holloway,   Alan Bennett,   Blake Morrison,   Lorna Sage   and   Michael Frayn.

Ticket price includes a glass of wine following the event.

Book Tickets

PEN Members are eligible for a discount on tickets for this event. If you would like to know more, please email   hannah@englishpen.org

Joe Randolph Ackerley   (1896-1967) was an author and long-time literary editor of   The Listener   magazine. The J. R. Ackerley prize was endowed by his sister Nancy in his memory

Peter Parker   is the author of   Housman Country, The Last Veteran,   The Old Lie: The Great War and the Public-School Ethos, and biographies of J. R. Ackerley and Christopher Isherwood. He is an advisory editor of The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, and has written about books, painting, architecture and gardening for a wide variety of newspapers and magazines.


Free Word Centre
60 Farringdon Road
London, EC1R 3GA United Kingdom


Hannah Trevarthen
020 73242536