Prison Writing Competition 2014 Winners Announced

Landscape Image Prompt

Entries will be published in this year’s collection ‘In a Parallel Universe and other voices’ launched on 25 February at a public event at the Free Word Centre in central London. Writer Meg Rosoff, this year’s judge, said:

Within this body of work, I heard some amazing voices. Your voices. They were humorous, thoughtful, intelligent, wise, angry, sad and passionate.

This was a bumper year with over 500 entries from 80 prisons stretching from Scotland to London and France so there are more winners than normal as you can see from the list below. A big THANK YOU to all who entered – we could not have done this without you. The collection will be available from the English PEN website after 25 February and all winners will receive two copies, as will the libraries who took part.

English PEN Writing Competition 2014-15: The Winning Entries

Winner: Poetry
‘Kitchen School’ and ‘In a Parallel Universe’ – Gareth Kerr, HMP Shotts

Winner: Fiction/Memoir
‘A Face in the Clouds’ – Mark Banner, HMP Stafford

Winner: Flash Fiction
‘A Letter to Myself’ – Steven Millward, HMP Guys Marsh

Winner: Book Review
The Ragged Trousered Philanthropist’ – Paul Prendergast, HMP Swaleside

Runners Up: Poetry
‘Wall of Firsts’ – R. W. Beardsley, HMP Ryehill
‘Life’s Lessons Ain’t Taught’ – Anonymous, Brook House IRC
‘The Winding Road’ – Brian Hannah, HMP Low Moss
‘The Last Breath’ – Anonymous, HMP Frankland
‘Flowers’ – Shahzad Javed, HMP Low Moss
‘Tipple’ – Bryan Kidd, HMP Shotts
‘Hinterland Detour’ – Graham Gardner, HMP Frankland
‘Ambition’ – Don-Carlos Ellis, HMP Longlartin
‘Going Home’ – Bob Beck, HMP Grendon
‘The Deceiving Countryside’ – Anonymous, HMP Shotts
‘In Praise of Wharfedales’ – Tony Joyce, HMP Parkhurst

Runners Up: Book Reviews
Roots by Alex Haley’ – Lennox Watson, HMP Thameside
Let The Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist’ – Andrew Craigie, HMP Frankland
For Those I Loved by Martin Gray’ – Ian Holden, HMP Usk
The Strange Voyage of Donald Crowhurst by N. Tomalin and R. Hall’ – Gordon Chorlton, HMP Guernsey

Runners Up: Fiction/Memoir
‘The Find’ – Anonymous, HMP Full Sutton
‘A Fantastic Journey’ – Sean Meier, HMP Stafford
‘A Letter To Myself’ – Oisin Hendrickse, HMP Wormwood Scrubs
‘The Road Ahead’ – James Henry, HMP Onley
‘My House On The Hill’ – Patrick Regan, HMP Bullingdon
‘Chance Encounter on a Sunday Afternoon’ – Steven Munn, HMP Bure
‘Anything Could Happen’ – Lee Gilmour, HMP Kilmarnock
‘Beginning’ – Anonymous, HMP Parc
‘Anything Could Happen’ – Jon Webb, HMP North Sea Camp

Highly Commended
(Poem/Short Story) ‘Well, I Never!’ – Craig Topping, HMP Ranby
(Poem) ‘My Spiritual Home’ – Michael Thomas, HMP Glenochil
(Book Review) ‘The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby’ – Anonymous, HMP Shotts
(Poem) ‘Chances’ – Ian Holden, HMP Usk
(Poem) ‘Mug’s Game’ – Gareth Cooke, HMP Parc
(Poem/Flash Fiction) ‘ My Life in 100 Words’ – Craig Roy, HMP Shotts
(Poem) ‘Ahm Bad’ – Anonymous, HMP Shotts
(Book Review) ‘Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer’ – Anonymous, HMP Parc

2 Comments on “Prison Writing Competition 2014 Winners Announced”

  1. well done to lennox Watson on the book review roots by alex haley lennox wrote his owne review good on you you will be a great wrighter xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *