Independent Foreign Fiction Prize Shortlist Announced


Today, Booktrust announce the IFFP shortlist.  The six contenders shortlisted for the 2012 Prize are:

  • Alice by Judith Hermann, translated from the German by Margot Bettauer Dembo (The Clerkenwell Press)
  • Blooms of Darkness by Aharon Appelfeld, translated from the Hebrew by Jeffrey M. Green (Alma Books)
  • Dream of Ding Village by Yan Lianke, translated from the Chinese by Cindy Carter (Corsair)
  • From the Mouth of the Whale by Sjón, translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb (Telegram Books)
  • New Finnish Grammar by Diego Marani, translated from the Italian by Judith Landry (Dedalus)
  • The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco, translated from the Italian by Richard Dixon (Harvill Secker)

Nominated writers/translators and PEN

In 2012 we’ll be supporting Diego Marani’s next book The Last of the Vostyaks, translated by Judith Landry  (to be published in May 2012 by Dedalus).
You can also view our latest PEN Atlas blog piece by Yan Lianke translated by Carlos Rojas  here
We congratulate all of the shortlisted writers and translators and look forward to the final celebrations of this great prize. 

The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize is awarded annually to the best work of contemporary fiction in translation. The Prize celebrates an exceptional work of fiction by a living author which has been translated into English from any other language and published in the United Kingdom in 2011. Uniquely, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize acknowledges both the writer and the translator equally, recognising the importance of the translator in their ability to bridge the gap between languages and cultures. The winning author and translator will be awarded £5,000 each and a limited edition magnum of Champagne Taittinger. 

For more information visit




Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *