Independent Foreign Fiction Prize

Administered by:

Literature Department

Arts Council England

14 Great Peter Street

London SW1P 3NQ

Awarded for translated fiction by living authors first published in Britain in the year preceding the award  

Prize: £10,000 shared equally between author and translator

Most recent winner (2004): Javier Cercas for Soldiers of Salamis and his translator from the Spanish, Anne McLean (Bloomsbury)

2003 winner: Per Olov Enquist for The Visit of the Royal Physician and his translator, Tiina Nunnally (The Harvill Press). 

To read more about the 2004 award, click here: Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2004

To read Boyd Tonkin’s article in The Independent on the 2003 prize, including the shortlist, click here  

Originally posted with the url:

About English PEN staff

This content is published by the English PEN staff.

View all posts by English PEN staff →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *