Minutes of the 101st Annual General Meeting of English PEN Thursday 8 December 2022, 6.00-7.00pm at Society of Authors and online

Presiding: Ruth Borthwick (RB), Chair

Present:

- 1. Ruth Borthwick
- 2. Milena Buyrum
- 3. Antonia Byatt
- 4. Ece Citelberg
- 5. Georgina Godwin
- 6. Daniel Hahn
- 7. Catheryn Kilgarriff
- 8. Sarah Lawson
- 9. Awet Mebrahtom
- 10. Dan Miller
- 11. Chinyere Nwakanma
- 12. K Purkayashtha
- 13. Shazea Quraishi
- 14. Aki Schilz
- 15. Ros Schwartz
- 16. Stephen Smith
- 17. Joanna Stocks
- 18. Selin Tamtekin
- 19. Paul Taylor
- 20. Gillian Tindall
- 21. Eleanor Antoniou
- 22. Natasha Bucknor
- 23. Sim Eldem
- 24. Daniel Gorman
- 25. Will Forrester
- 26. Cat Lucas
- 27. Zoe Sadler
- 28. Nadia Saeed

Reports:

Ruth Borthwick (RB), Chair Joanna Stocks (JS), Honorary Treasurer Daniel Gorman (DG), Director Cat Lucas (CL), Writers at Risk Programme Manager Zoe Sadler (ZS), Events & Prizes Manager Will Forrester (WF), Translation and International Manager Sim Eldem (SE), Head of Communications

• Ruth Borthwick (RB) welcomed everyone to the 101st English PEN AGM and asks all to join us for Hessell-Tiltman announcement at 7:30pm

1. Apologies

• RB shares apologies from 14 members and notifies all of 15 proxy votes cast

2. In memoriam

- One minute silence is held for the English PEN members who have passed this year:
 - o Elizabeth Paterson, English PEN member 1996-2022
 - Christopher Archer, English PEN member (2020-2022) and correspondent with Nedim Türfent, d February 2022
 - Raymond Briggs, English PEN member 1989-2022
 - Dame Hilary Mantel, Lifetime member since 2004

Matters arising from the minutes of the 100th AGM of English PEN, held on 7 December 2021

- RB ratifies the following from the 100th AGM of English PEN, held on 7th December 2021
 - o confirm that the minutes are an accurate record of the meeting.
 - Action: accuracy confirmed (no matters arising were brought forward)
 - It is noted that due to technical issues with the sound, members joining via zoom are not able to follow the proceedings via Zoom. RB apologises on before of the administration team.

4. To receive and consider the Annual Report and Audited Accounts for 2021-22

- RB continues to address members with summary of annual report, and invites Joanna Stocks (JS), honorary treasurer of English PEN, to deliver her report on English PEN's finances in 2021/22
- JS addresses members, stating health of English PEN's finances are in an improved position. JS also updates on the process for finding new auditors.
 - Questions opened to the floor for members no questions
- RB invites Daniel Gorman (DG), Director of English PEN, to deliver his report
- DG addresses members, thanks them for their support, as well as thanking funders, staff, and trustees of English PEN
- RB invites programme managers at English PEN to deliver their reports to members.
 - o Zoe Sadler (ZS) reports on prizes and public programmes
 - Cat Lucas (CL) reports on the campaigns and writers at risk programme
 - \circ $\;$ Will Forrester (WF) reports on the writers in translation programme
 - o Sim Eldem (SE) reports on communications activity and membership
 - \circ Questions opened to the floor for members no questions

5. Appoint the new auditors Knox Cropper

- RB asks members to approve of the appointment of English PEN's new auditors Knox Cropper.
 - Members to raise hands to vote **Action:** passed (no objections)

6. Re-election of trustees to the board of English PEN

- RB asks members to approve the re-election of the following trustees to the board:
 - Ruth Borthwick (appointed on 19 March 2019)
 - Cathy Galvin (appointed on 19 March 2019)
 - Georgina Godwin (appointed on 25 June 2019)
 - Members to raise hands to vote **Action:** passed (no objections)
- RB thanked the trustees who are standing down as of today:
 - Samantha Schnee, resigned 8 December 2022

8. Any other business

• RB asks members for any other business.

Action: no matters arising were brought forward.

Action: passed (no objections)

9. Close of meeting

- RB thanks all who attended and asks attendees to come to the Hessell-Tiltman Prize announcement at 7:30pm
- RB closes this year's meeting