PEN Pinter Prize

The PEN Pinter Prize was established in 2009  in memory of the Nobel-winning playwright Harold Pinter. The Prize is awarded annually to a British writer or a writer resident in Britain of outstanding literary merit who, in the words of Harold Pinter’s Nobel speech, casts an ‘unflinching, unswerving’ gaze upon the world, and shows a ‘fierce intellectual determination … to define the real truth of our lives and our societies’.

The prize is shared with an international writer of courage selected by English PEN’s Writers at Risk Committee in association with the winner. This half of the prize is awarded to someone who has been persecuted for speaking out about their beliefs.

The winner of the 2013 PEN Pinter Prize is Sir Tom Stoppard.  He received his award at an event at the British Library on October 7th and chose journalist Iryna Khalip from Belarus with whom to share his prize as International Writer of Courage.

Previous Winners

Year British Winner International Winner
2012 Carol Ann Duffy Samar Yazbek
2011 Sir David Hare Roberto Saviano
2010 Hanif Kureishi Lydia Cacho
2009 Tony Harrison Zarganar (Maung Thura)

Originally posted with the url:

21 Comments on PEN Pinter Prize