Posts Categorised: Prizes

Mahvash Sabet 2017 (via Bijan Masumian).jpg cropped

Bahá’í poet Mahvash Sabet shares 2017 PEN Pinter Prize with Michael Longley

Bahá’í poet and teacher Mahvash Sabet has this evening been named 2017 International Writer of Courage by Michael Longley at the PEN Pinter Prize ceremony at the British Library. Longley was announced as the 2017 PEN Pinter Prize winner in June this year. Sabet was released in September, after being imprisoned for almost ten years

Read more
Hessell-Tiltman Prize 2017 shortlisted titles

PEN Hessell-Tiltman Prize 2017 shortlist announced

English PEN today announces the judges and shortlisted titles for the Hessell-Tiltman Prize 2017. The prize, endowed by former PEN member Marjorie Hessell Tiltman, celebrates the best non-fiction on any historical subject. The 2017 shortlist: Sarah Bakewell, At The Existentialist Café (Chatto & Windus) Jerry Brotton, This Orient Isle (Allen Lane) Susan L. Carruthers, The

Read more